Wednesday, November 12, 2008

“To sin by silence when they should protest makes cowards of men."

The Prop 8 Fight is not over people!  

NOW is the time to mobilize! Well, specifically, this Saturday is the time to mobilize.  But you must spread the word NOW!

National Protest Against Prop 8
Saturday, November 15th - the biggest national protest in our country's history will be taking place in 80+ cities, in ALL 50 states simultaneously!  Some international locations are participating as well.  

Over a million visitors have hit the site www.jointheimpact.com since it was launched just 6 days ago.  

10:30AM West Coast
11:30AM Mountain
12:30PM Central
1:30PM East Coast


If you are local to me, the closest protest will be at Oakland City Hall: 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Oakland, CA @ 10:30 AM.  More info available on Facebook, or by clicking the links above.

If you haven't seen it already, watch this moving piece by Keith Olbermann.  He says it so much better than I can.  Then decide if you can give up a few hours on Saturday to stand with us.



Will you join us on Saturday, where ever you are, and stand up for equal rights?  Will you spread the word for others to join us? 
To sin by silence when they should protest makes cowards of men.” - Abraham Lincoln
All, too, will bear in mind this sacred principle, that though the will of the majority is in all cases to prevail, that will, to be rightful, must be reasonable; that the minority possess their equal rights, which equal laws must protect, and to violate would be oppression.” - Thomas Jefferson

"Democracy is not the law of the majority but the protection of the minority." - Albert Camus

"
They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin

"Give to every human being every right that you claim for yourself." - Robert Ingersoll

1 comment:

Cheri @ Blog This Mom! said...

Good job with this Stacey.

I'm going to post about it too.